Being a vast country, India is subdivided into many states and union territories for administrative purpose. The states are further divided into districts. These districts (jila/zila) are further divided into many subdivisions called tehsils. These tehsils are again divided into gram panchayats or village panchayaths.

Initially, these divisions were done for the purpose of collecting land revenue and other administration purposes. But now different departments of government like education, agriculture, irrigation, health, police, etc. The different departments of state government generally have offices at tehsil or taluka level to facilitate good governance and to provide facilities to common people easily.The chief official of tehsil is called the tahsildar, who is a revenue administrative officer.

District South East Delhi is divided into 3 tehsils:

  • Sarita Vihar
  • Defence Colony
  • Kalkaji